Leaf Springs - Should I replace these?

Started by solracem, May 10, 2016, 09:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

solracem

Hey Everyone

I'm no mechanic and am learning as I go (mostly from you guys). I was hoping you could chime in and give me some advice on these pictures.

Should I replace these leaf springs?
Should I just add a suspension kit? I was thinking about adding the Timbren kit in the link below. Anyone used it? Do i need it?

http://www.stengelbros.net/GMRP30HD-Timbren-SES-Helper-Suspension-Kit_p_1371.html

Or, do I need both?

I'm trying to get this bad boy ready for a cross country trip in September.

Any suggestions, help and advice is very much appreciated!

Rickf1985

Looks like you are very over loaded, have you scaled it? Your air bags are flat and they will do better than the timbrons but they still will not make up for overload on the axle. It also looks like your axle seals are leaking which means your brakes have oil on them. If that is oil I see coming out of the back of the drum, ot brake fluid. either way attention is needed before driving.

BrianB

From my experience - my springs looked like yours, so I replaced them (search for the thread here that I started). Once I got the new ones in, they had the same "negative" arch, but maybe not as bad. I also replaced the rear airbags.

Based on that, I would say that your springs are probably ok especially if you have good airbags to help out. I can't speak to the kit you linked to. My only thought is that at $400 for that kit, you could spend $200 more for new leaf springs.
Check out my RV trip planning & prep: http://alaska.boorman.us/

The movie Twister - that research instrument? Yeah, she figured it out.

BrianB

Quote from: Rickf1985 on May 10, 2016, 10:04 AM
Looks like you are very over loaded, have you scaled it? Your air bags are flat and they will do better than the timbrons but they still will not make up for overload on the axle.