'77 Brave refusing to keep battery charged

Started by snowbird, October 22, 2012, 11:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

snowbird

*note to reader*  I am not an auto expert BY ANY MEANS.  You have my permission to talk to me like I am 5 years old :)

I have a '77 Winnebago Brave, Dodge 440 engine.  I've had this for about 6 months; prior owners let it sit for a year or so, but before that took her out across the country pretty much once a year for 30 years.  When I purchased it I drove it about 6 hours home without any problems.  Since then the following has happened:

I replaced both batteries.  3 times now I have had her out on the highway and at some point within about 30 miles from home she backfired and powered down while I was driving.  One of the batteries was totally dead.  The first diagnosis was a fuel issue; the mechanic replaced the fuel filter, started her up, and claimed she was fine.  The same thing happened again (also a dead battery).  The second diagnosis from the same mechanic was a belt for the alternator - they replaced the belt, started her up, and claimed she was fine.

A third time she powered down while driving, battery dead.  This third time I took her to a new mechanic.  They couldn't even start her without a new ignition coil and module (I am POSITIVE I am getting the part names wrong but hopefully you know what they are).  She is still at the mechanic while he further diagnoses her, but I'm hoping SOMEONE HAS A CLUE AS TO WHAT IS REALLY GOING WRONG???  I really want to travel with this girl, like, across the country, but I'm started to become fearful of driving too far and then getting stranded.  I"m also out of AAA tows :)

Thanks for any help!

gadgetman

Not enough info to really help you other than saying it is a charging system problem. Pattern failures would be the connector at the voltage regulator, the ground at the regulator to the rusted bracket it is bolted too, loose terminals at the alt. field connections.