What Does the dash " - 3 " Engine Designator Mean?

Started by The_Handier_Man1, November 20, 2008, 10:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The_Handier_Man1

Sent: 10/14/2004 7:35 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this whole Winnebago/ Dodge engine thing, so I hope you don't think I'm a big dummy!!!
I was wondering what the -3 was after you guys talk about your engine size.  Ex. - 440-3
I just bought my Winnie and the PO told me it had a Dodge 360 in it.
I've never had any vehicles with Dodge engines so I can't identify it just by looking at it. I did replace two pushrods, and took the old ones with me to the parts store, told the guy they were for a 360, and he brought hte right ones out! Can anyone tell me the easiest way to identify this engine, because I have no idea where the engine codes are stamped/cast on these engines.
And what's the -3  for?
Is mine a 360-3?

You'll probably be hearing from me a lot more, because I'm planning on rebuilding this engine over the winter!

Thanks,
Mooman56

Sent: 10/14/2004 9:12 AM

I think the 3 in the engine code designates a heavy duty engine application . It's built different than the car engines , Designed for heavy sevice and runs   lower RPM .
If it's a 360 3 there should be a identification number stamped in the block on the left front below the cylinder head .  the 440 3 has it stamed on the top of the block Left front side next to the valve cover . Knowing the year of the rig is helpfull , and the first six numbers of the dodge chassis vin # contains most information . Sea Hag 

Sent: 10/18/2004 12:33 AM

The "-3" is what is called an "arrangement number".  It denotes differences in timing, carburetion, and head porting.  The "-3" engine was also used in police vehicles, ambulances & medium-duty truck chassis' (such as our coaches are based on).

They also made a "-1" arrangement, which had timing of 5 degrees BTDC among other differences.

John

Sent: 10/18/2004 6:28 PM

Sea Hag & John,