Proper Engine and Coach Battery Wiring?

Started by MSN Member, March 08, 2010, 10:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MustangGT221

Sent: 5/5/2004

I just got a 72 Winnie (brave) with a 318 motor. It's been sitting for about 3 years and I'm trying to get it going again. I have two 12v batteries ready to put in it but I'm a little confused on how to hook it up. There are 4 battery connectors in the compartment (obvious) but two are connected to a ground right next to the compartment. One is red that goes to the engine and the other is black which goes all the way back to the generator. I am totally new to these motorhomes and have no idea how they're connections are made. Any idea how this is suppose to go together?

denisondc

The two cables that are connected together to a ground in the compartment go to the negative terminals of each battery. The other two cables each connect to the positive terminal of a battery. With a little luck this will be clear when you do put the connectors on the posts. The positive post is slightly larger diameter than the negative, and the cable ends should match the post size. Not that people cant horse them around. Myself, I like to have the positive cable always be red, but some stores don't carry different colors of cable. That black one going toward the generator is the power for the -coach-. Whether its connected or not will make no difference to starting the motor.

MustangGT221

OK great, thanks.