I think my motor broke! Smoking 440 motor

Started by The_Handier_Man1, November 26, 2008, 10:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The_Handier_Man1

Sent: 12/15/2003 3:35 PM

Hey all, I think I've got major problems.  Was driving the ol 76 winnie Cheiftain around town just to get it out and let it stretch it's legs for a little bit. It's been awhile since we've had her out, a couple months for sure.  While driving down a small highway at around 55 mph, I noticed the rig was shuddering.  It felt the way a motor does when it's missing slightly.  Next thing I noted was it was smoking horribly! I looked like a big fat mosquito fogger running down the road!  When I stopped to sort of check things out smoke started coming up from the front as well.   When I pulled the cover, smoke was puffing up from the carb in time with the motor. 

Now I'm no mechanic here, as many of you know, but on intitial diagnosis, I'm betting a valve has given up for a better life in that great internal combustion engine in the sky. 

I was able to get it home.  No unusual noises that I could tell coming from the motor, but,that 440 is a very noisy motor anyway with that big ol fan humming away.  Any small noises I'd have not likely heard.   Power did seem a bit diminished too.

Any tips, advice, etc. would be helpful here.  Again, remember, I'm no mechanic here.  Telling me anything that would require me to tear down that motor to any great extent would be the same as telling me to take her out, get my gun, and put her outta her misery.   I'm in no spot at all right now to pay too much for repairs, but, I don't have a problem letting it sit around for awhile to save up the money so long as it's worth doing.  We've put so much sweat, tears, money, cussing, ..well, you get the idea.  I'd hate to have to lose our Winnie here.

Thanks

Jeff

Sent: 12/15/2003 7:40 PM