I Bought A Classic Winnebago Today

Started by khantroll, April 22, 2014, 10:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

khantroll

Hello Everyone! My name is Jeff, and today, I finally got a Winnebago. A 1972, D24CL to be precise. So I thought this would be a good time to introduce myself, and my Winne that we have decided to call "Wiley".

As for me, I am an IT guy by trade. I primarily do roll-outs and system design consultations. My family have always been travelers; we started out as Arkies moving to California, and  for three generations we haven't stopped moving. When I was a child, we had a 1974 Zodiac, a motorhome built on a Ford chassis by a company here in Arkansas. As time went on, it became cheaper to drive our cars or (in later years) fly, so my parents sold the motorhome.

On a recent family trip back to California, though, we realized we may have come full circle. My parents are older now, and have health problems that make long car rides a hassle. The same things make flying problematic. Plus, you miss so much. We genuinely love the road, so I decided another motorhome was in order.

After doing a little research, I finally decided on a 1970s Winnebago for many of the same reasons I'm sure many of you did. For one, you can't beat the personality of these rigs. The other reason was nostalgia.

Then, I had to find one. I spent months checking craigslist, ebay, and following TJ's list here on the website. I stayed within a reasonable distance of home, though, because I didn't want to risk being stranded trying to get something home. Unfortunately, the pickings here in NW Arkansas proved kind of slim. Most were overpriced (IMO) for their condition, or they didn't run and were in ridiculous  places. I remember one that I went to look at near Eureka Springs, I honestly have no idea how they got it in there in the first place. I would have had to cut trees to get it out of there!