Introduction and Question: Can't decide on Class B or C - thoughts?

Started by skodacanada, September 25, 2013, 11:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

skodacanada

Hi,

My name is Christopher, and I live in BC Canada.

We don't have an RV, nor have we ever owned one, but for some strange reason we want one now.

We've looked at all eras of homes, but we both much prefer RVs from the 70s and early-mid 80s if only because with love the style and aesthetics inside and out (the fact we can't afford much more has nothing to do with it!).

I'm no mechanic, but I've always owned it seems something from the 70s (just sold off my 73 BMW Bavaria this summer, so now I'm 70s less...sniff...) I also maintain a small fleet of Czechoslovak rear-engined Skodas to drive about town.

I've read a lot about the pitfalls of the oldtimers (all the RV stuff is new to me), and the consensus seems to be that prior maintenance is everything, and the biggest issues are leaking/wood rot, electrical/rv gear issues, and mechanical sorting including expensive tires and big block fuel costs. Would this be fair?

We can't quite decide however between a small class C VS a long class B. Our hearts are with a small C; the small home cosy feel, room to move about (we're both tall) and true independence, BUT of course the class B is easier to store, drive, park, and it seems cheaper to run (no wood rot and less leaks). We also have a little one, so safety is a bonus (though relatively few Class Bs seem to have a forward facing bench seat for a baby seat).

My question is; we only plan on relatively short trips - Pacific North West through California maybe east to Montana/Wyoming, , and then parking and staying for a day or three here or there. It's only the 2 1/2 of us, and we can rationalize it both ways; because we aren't going for ages a Class B will be ok VS. because we aren't going for ages high fuel costs of a 454 won't hurt quite as bad, and staying in 1 spot would be more fun.