Shower base..

Started by fasteddie313, August 16, 2016, 12:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fasteddie313

Well my bath tub was cracked and looked like crap yellow so I decided it had to go.. Since I took it out it has sustained more damage due to getting stuff thrown on it and a couple 9mm holes so it's definately not going back in..

I am not much of a carpenter, I'm a mechanic, so I really have no idea what I'm doing here.. I'm kinda stuck..

What I have now is a floor with pipes snaking just above it. So I figure I have to build myself a secondary floor over top of the pipes, and then build some sort of shower base..

I don't want a tub, just a shower base, but the empty shower area in my Rambler is an odd shape and not just going to fit some prefeb shower base unless you know something that I don't.

The shower is against 2 exterior walls that are square, 1 little short wall dividing the shower from the toilet that is square, and another little wall dividing the shower from the washing machine area that is NOT SQUARE... Odd shape..

So pretty much I have to figure out how to custom build a shower base..

A lot of people have been recommending me to do it in tile but I'm not sure..

For 1 I don't know nothing bout doin no tile.. WEll, I'm not a moron and can learn how to do it and have chop saws that I could outfit with a concrete blade to cut tile and blah blah ok it's not impossible but sounds like a whole lot of work..

Also I'm not sure tile is a good idea. It will be heavy for one and all the way in the back corner of my Rambler where Id rather not have that much weight that far behind the axles..

My Rambler has an unusual floor layout with the bathroom all the way in the back where a master bedroom would usually go in an RV.. It goes dash, living room, kitchen, double beds, then bathroom all the way in the back..