Should I buy it? 1976 GMC 21' Motorhome...

Started by skodacanada, September 28, 2013, 10:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skodacanada

I posted this one earlier as I'm quite interested, but now that I've gone to see it in the flesh I thought I'd post it as a topic.

1976 GMC 21' Motorhome - $4500 CDN, located semi-local to me...

http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/rds/rvs/4013298451.html

Overall its in very good condition inside and out, and the seller has put in over $12k worth of work into it with receipts over the past 3 years. Everything electrical and RV on it appears to work (fridge, stove, etc..) though I will have it checked out professionally as I'm new to all of this. It has clearly received attention and care over its many years.

Problems:

1. Roof is sagging - seller says its from 300lbs AC in the middle (since replaced with an electric 2 way fan). I don't mind it, but is it going to cause endless headaches with leaks/get worse?

2. He said 2 of the vents had tiny leaks, and there is evidence of an old leak behind one overhead storage compartment. The interior is completely original from 1976 and there are no signs of other leaks, musty smells, etc. Some posters say never touch anything with evidence of a leak, while others say pretty much any older A or C will have a leak at some point. Thoughts?

3. Some of the underside wood is getting old - 2 of the side panels behind the rear wheels have begun to rot. One piece of plywood near the back  is starting to soften, and there are a few bits here and there. Most of it looks very solid though, and there is almost no rust (underside is great, one fender only has a nasty spot). Again, it all appears to be original.

Any comments/thoughts from the wise?

For the price point, given the mechanical shape, I think it could still be a good buy, but the wood bothers me a bit...

Lefty