What kind of generator do I have?

Started by moonlitcoyote, April 15, 2012, 02:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

moonlitcoyote

My generator says Onan Emerald I Genset, the model # I can find is 4.OBGE-1R/ 26109B But I have searched everywhere and cant find that model. Am I wrong that that is the model #? It cranks but wont start, I have put starter fluid into it and it will run for a split second then die, it has spark so I am assuming its not getting fuel. So I am trying to find out if there is a fuel pump or just a fuel filter on it. Can anyone help, either with the model # or the problem starting? Thank you.

ClydesdaleKevin

Hang in there, moonlitcoyote....Dave or others will get back to you shortly and help you through this.  I'm not good with this, so I'll leave it to the experts.  Good luck!

Kev
Kev and Patti, the furry kids, our 1981 Ford F-100 Custom tow vehicle, and our 1995 Itasca Suncruiser Diesel Pusher.

moonlitcoyote

Thanks Kev, I did find that it has an electric fuel pump. So to see if the pump was working I hooked it to a 12v battery, but didnt hear anything, so assumed it didnt work. I went to NAPA and bought a different type of electric fuel pump, got it all installed and when I tried to start the generator the fuse on the front of the generator blew. :( I really wish I had a manual to the generator, there is a small black switch on the side of it that doesnt say anything. I dont know which way the switch should be or what it is for. Also, would the fuse blow if I had the winny plugged into shore power when I tried to start it? I know how regular generators work, but know nothing about these onboard generators.

Lefty

Onan BGE Service Manual
https://rapidshare.com/files/40043237/onan_service_manual.pdf

You have an Onan BGE Spec: B 4.0kw Genset
The Model # is 4.0BGE-1R/26109-B     
The breakdown of that is as follows:
4.0 - kw rating of genset
BGE -Model Series
1 - 120v Single Phase
R - Equipped for Remote Start
261** - Type