12 Volt Appliances Won't Work

Started by Clyde9, November 15, 2008, 08:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clyde9

Sent: 6/18/2007 8:14 AM

Hi Everyone!!! I am brand new to RV ownership. I think I have only been in 2 my entire life, so please forgive my very basic questions. I bought a '77 Dodge Minnie Winnie in above average condition but i don't know how to get all the appliances to work on 12v. like I'm missing a switch or something. I can run the water pump while on ac (plugged in or generator) but not on 12v. Same w/ the furnace. There is a breaker box inside do I need to flip something? They are currently both flipped to "on". Also there is a switch above and behind the driver seat that says Batt. / Man. ??? (sorry I am not sure if that is exact and the rig is in for repairs) What is that for?
Having a great time so far... but we've only been to the beach a few miles away.
Thanks for any help, Chris

Sent: 6/18/2007 8:44 AM

Welcome to the site!

If the furnace and water pump is original equipment, they require 12 volts to operate. It sounds to me like they are operating off of the converter which has a 12 volt output when you are connected to a 120 volt supply. Check to make sure you have at least two batteries.....one for the chassis and one for the coach. Mine has two for the coach but it would operate with only one. If you do have two or more batteries, check to make sure they are good and have a decent charge.

That would be a starting point and I'm sure some of the very knowledgeable folks here will offer more on this. Again...welcome!

Sent: 6/18/2007 11:15 AM

Welcome to the group!

I'm sure you'll find all your answers here in this forum, and these folks are the best group of people!

Easybago is right...there is something going on with your converter, the coach batteries, or the wiring.