Advice on a tune up for just bought 72 brave D20

Started by Clyde9, November 15, 2008, 12:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clyde9

Sent: 12/29/2007 11:05 AM

Hello everyone, I just bought a 1972 brave D20 on a M300 chassis. I'm really new to the RV world and don't have any experience working on RV's. I have experience working on older vehicles though. I'm looking for any tune up advice on this winne. It has 100000 miles and is that a lot for an RV. I'm planning on taking a trip in a few months and probably be a 800 mile round trip. Im not to really worried about appliances right now I'm mostly worried about mechanical issues( brakes, tranny, engine etc...). The motor runs damn good and doesn't smoke at all and the tranny shifts fun through all gears. Tires are fair also brakes. How long does a brand new pair of brake pads for drum typically last? Also where is a good parts place y'all get parts from? I know this message might be a little vague but anything would help. This website already helped me so much already. Thanks a lot

Sent: 12/30/2007 12:54 AM

First things first...Welcome aboard. Two if is running good don't fix it. Three keep an eye on the fluids and tire pressures and you should be good to go. My experiences on the road have always led me to NAPA they have been above and beyond when it has come to on the road repairs Auto Zone and Advance Auto chaps are real helpful as well. Last but not least you've come to the right place for help there is much material that can be down loaded from this site.

Sent: 12/30/2007 2:07 AM

There are additional listings for brake parts in the Resources side-bar option. - Sob

Sent: 12/30/2007 10:30 AM

Welcome to the group!  And congratulations on buying a Winnie, the coolest old rigs on the road!