Source for M400 Brake Rotors?

Started by MSN Member, November 14, 2008, 09:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MSN Member

Sent: 10/4/2006 3:07 PM

Hi,

I am new to the wonderful world of parts sourcing for my recently acquired 1977 Winnebago Chieftain. Seems I can locate most of the steering and brakes I may need, but the M400 brake rotors seem to be eluding me. Through some recent internet research, I seem to have noticed the the "hard to find" rotors are the 1977 model only? Are there other year M400 chassis that accept the same front rotors. Raybestos lists front rotors that fit the 1978-81 chassis. Will those fit?

I also have noticed the highway robbers wanting 300 dollars or more for these rotors.That is INSANE! Is the 1977 M400 chassis different because it has single piston calipers? This is becoming frustrating!!
HELP!!!! Does anyone have a picture of these things? HELP!!!

Thanks ,

Greg Miller

Sent: 10/4/2006 3:52 PM

Sorry I dont have the answer to your questions, but $300 for a rotor is only out-of-line if you can find them cheaper. To find them cheaper, start calling salvage yards, asking if they have any dodge chassis motorhomes made around that year. You will need to know the diameter of the rotor and the description of the caliper, and the yard probably wont know if what they have will fit - so take an old one with you.
They will probably cost less if you harvest them from a junker yourself. Thats how I got the spare parts for my 72 M400 drum brakes: Several days spent sweating in junkyards, dealing with blackberry briers, ticks & mosquitos (Pa), mosquitos and Copperheads (Ark), and red ants & black widow spiders(Tx).

Sent: 10/4/2006 6:25 PM

Try Geoff at Alretta... in the Resource Section.  - Sob

Sent: 10/6/2006 11:35 AM

Year model is not the issue.  There are 4 different types (Autospecialty new P/Ns):

M300 - AR8703

5 bolt - AR8710

6 bolt - AR8712

8 bolt - AR8711