Generator for backup of real home power

Started by MSN Member, July 29, 2009, 11:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tatkin

Sent: 12/12/2007

I was talking to an electrician at the watering hole.

He told me that if you create a power cord with two male ends on it you can use it easily for backup to supply your real house.

He said just throw the main breaker on the breaker box in the basement , off, and then plug that created cord into a socket.

Hmmm.

Cooneytoones

Now  I'm not an electrician and I know this procedure will work, but (with a capital B) I would Strongly advise against doing it.

The reason, unless you have a total house disconnect switch, one that disconnects the main breaker panel from the outside feed wires coming in from the electrical meter, you could KILL a Lineman who might be working on the line....the generator feeding electrical current into the house wiring could back-feed into the line, two miles down the road a lineman may be handing a dead wire that is now live.

This exact scenario happened near me about 3 years ago. It would be better to cut the little tag and unscrew the meter then remove meter ....You would get fined by the power company, but you wouldn't be facing a possible charge of man slaughter or negligent homicide... which is what happened to the homeowner who did that.  He was sentenced to 8 years in The Indiana Dept of Correction.....along with living with, causing the death of an innocent worker just doing his job....

Unless you have a whole house disconnect switch...You can buy one at Home Depot...and they are not very expensive, Until you have a switch  or want to chance pulling the meter....just run the genny and use extension cords in case of a power outage.

Timmy

denisondc