How do I reach the spark plugs on a 413?

Started by The_Handier_Man1, November 11, 2008, 08:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty1966us

Sent: 9/26/2003 9:52 AM

Hi all, newbie here, just bought a 72 indian with the 413 engine,  got it pretty cheap, everything seems to work!  My question is how do you get to the plugs to change them on this beast, doesnt look like it can be done from above, and below looks even worse!

Sent: 9/26/2003 1:02 PM

Rusty,
Through the wheel wells.  Sould be at eye level there.
Dave

Sent: 9/26/2003 1:54 PM

Oh what fun you are in for! I have had a 1972 D22 with the 413 engine for 12 years now, and 41,000 happy miles. On the passengers side you should be able to reach the spark plugs from above, after pulling the passenger seat out of the way and removing the engine cover. Thats the good news. For the drivers side plugs -Well..... I always work from inside the wheel well, and I dont know if it is feasible any other way. It means jacking the frame up and taking the front wheel off. Get lots of good solid supports to supplement the jack!!
Did you buy this RV from a person who was a member of this site? And how much info on its maintenance history did you get? Can you post some pictures? Do you enjoy doing your own repairs?denison

Sent: 9/26/2003 3:00 PM

Hi,
I'm not sure on a 413, but I assume that they are accessed the same as my 440. The passenger side is a breeze. Just sit up under the wheel well (In front of axel) and that 4 are easily reached. On the driver side, it is an entirely different story. However if you look carefully there is a heat shield that is removable (between the exhaust manifold and the master cylinder). I do that side on my back, underneath.

Good luck with it.

Chuck

Sent: 9/26/2003 4:39 PM

I also have a '72 with a 413. To change the plugs on the driver's side I work from above. I remove the valve cover which makes the plugs much more accessible. (It's also a good opportunity to change the gasket.)

C.