Advice needed on Replacement Generator for 72 D20

Started by MSN Member, March 07, 2009, 03:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LVLFNXS

Sent: 11/16/2003

Hey all, I am looking for a generator for my 72 D20.  What was stock?  What will work in there?  I am completely new at all of this.  Please email me at erikgatz@yahoo.com if you have advice, or an option for me.  Thanks all

Erik

denisondc

Sent: 11/16/2003

I imagine your winny would have come with what my 72 D22 has - an Onan 2.5 kw LK model. It weighs about 200 lbs, puts out 110v, was electric start, single cylinder, 1800 rpm, and air cooled. A fairly quiet unit. It used the engines battery for starting. Mine doesn't seem to have a 12v circuit for charging the battery that started it. Although Onan apparently still supplies parts, the unit is a little out of date. Thats if you wanted to stay original. The modern replacements would probably weigh almost as much, but put out lots more wattage. It is possible your winny didn't come with a generator at all - but if it has a genset space, the above model is what I think it would have had. Mine still works okay, draws its fuel from one of the RVs big gasoline tanks, and I think it uses about 1/2 gallon per hour, when powering the roof a.c. and the little Dometic refrigerator. Thats about all it is able to do though; it could never run a 2nd roof a.c. unit for instance, denison

Sea Hag

Sent: 11/17/2003