Upgrading to power brakes

Started by MSN Member, January 09, 2009, 11:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnandColeen

Sent: 9/15/2003

Our 1969 Winnebago F-17 (Ford) has NO power brakes. As you can imagine, John's braking leg is getting a real work out. We want to install power brakes.  Anyone have a good source for
parts?  Any advice?
John and Coleen in Alaska

denisondc

Sent: 9/15/2003

John and Colleen: This is just an opinion, I'm no Ford expert, and you may know all this already. I assume the chassis under your winny was similar to the trucks or school bus chassis of the same year and gross weight, and some of those may have come with power brakes, or had that option. I would look around for the information on your same chassis size, or near it. I don’t have any manuals for Fords, but would look in manuals for F3s, F4s, F5s, or F300, F400, etc. You would need to know what your winny chassis is. If you or someone near you had those manuals you could see if the there was a power brake setup for it and you could start looking into that system . You need to get close to the correct cylinder bore sizes - so the piston bore and stroke in your backfit master cylinder would give you the proper braking effect and pedal movement for the wheel cylinders on your rig. This doesn’t mean the same bore size for wheel cylinders and master cylinder usually. I assume you have drum brakes on the front axle: Most all modern vehicles use disc brakes at least up front - a master cylinder for such a vehicle would be unsuitable. The master cylinder you will be looking for will be pretty much an old truck part, period. If your brake system is dual, having a dual master cylinder, you would want to maintain that with a dual master cylinder backfit. If it is a single system, you would probably want to have a single chamber master cylinder. With incredible luck you would only need to install a booster and a different mounting bracket, maybe adapters for different length brake lines to