1988 Chev Super Chief w/ 454 not getting fuel

Started by joejiz, April 20, 2022, 09:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joejiz

Hi,

Just learning about RV's.  I am a 3rd year mechanic in heading to Vancouver island.  The RV is in a field but was drove there 9 months ago.  When it is started now the only way for it to run is manually pour gas down the Rochester carburetor .  (17085212      3517    HPA )

We have bought a new fuel filter, carb kit , new spark plugs and distributor rotor .   Can any one tell me where the fuel filter is located ?

Also any other recommendations to make this run ok?

Oz

A very typical cause is the in tank fuel pump. 
Message Search "no fuel" and select "this board" from the drop down. There's a ton of info on this problem.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

eXodus

Oz is right.

Either tank or engine mounted fuel pump went out.

Eyez Open

Generally there are two fuel filters, passenger side on the frame rails. One very close to the tank and one about midway..and one in the carb of course. Then there is the rubber fuel line, it degrades...becomes porous and leaks badly. A note here...if the line's are not airtight they will not pull gas out of the tank. Mechanical fuel pumps only topic

You should have a electric  pump in the tank that pushes the gas up but one never knows with these old RV's...meaning there is a high probability of dropping the tank.

joejiz

Ok right on, thanks.  Yah crazy to think electric fuel pump in the tank for a carb powered RV!!!

joejiz

Oh hey, just an update.  I see the fuel tank in mid section of RV.   Two lines going down to it from filler neck.   found manual fuel pump on passenger side of engine.  Was able to get started by priming engine until it could run on it's own.  I changed out all the plugs ( that was fun )  .  I found vacuum lines at rear of carb rotted, plugged it and the next day, she started perfectly.