First time RV purchaser

Started by TJones, March 15, 2022, 01:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TJones

Hi everyone, new to the RV world. First camper ever and I choose a rather large project to start with. 1988 Winnebago Super Chief that appears to be in decent shape but needs to be awakened from a long slumber. Need to know how the systems work and what to watch out for. Mechanicals aren't quite as scary as electricals, ( generator, lighting, making sure I don't short something out, etc.......)

Oz

Hello and welcome!  One thing you can do is a complete assessment using the Used RV buying checklist. It's in the "forms" tab on the main nav bar.  Great for checkin things, making notes, and prioritizing things that need addressed.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

Mlw

Hello and welcome to the forum.

I promise you, If you can think logically electrical is far easier than mechanical, certainly when everything is still connected originally. I'm not a real electrician also but did fix all issues i found myself so far, just by finding the problem at youtube and listen to tips, beartraps and advice given. I think the positive thing about this is that you will learn your RV inside out, so when you have issues on the way you can fix them yourself next to the fact that there are a lot of "experts" doing more damage then good and leaving you with their debris.

In most cases problems are starting when Po's added electricals and didn't follow the rules, which unfortunately is happening way too much and you'll get something like this:
Dodge MB400 360-3 wiring problems

Now, when you still want to address this yourself I have the following tips for you, but bear in mind you are doing this at your own risk.