1992 P30 454 TBI total high end power loss

Started by Fwdstuck, July 30, 2021, 12:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fwdstuck

Hey guys, I have 1992 Fleetwood Flair 25Y with P30 chassis with the 454 TBI and 4l80 transmission that I picked up back in November. It had been in storage for about 6 years and the owner didn't much about it. Iv'e did some work on it like tuning up the engine (plug wires, plugs, rotor cap, air cleaner, fuel filter). There is one issue I can't seam to figure out. The TBI has no upper end power. It's very hard to explain. It runs great at idle and has great low end power. I have no previous experience with the GM TBI until with this motorhome. I've let this issue go until we broke down this past weekend, more on that later. Say your on the freeway and you punch it or start going uphill, it's makes that 4 barrel WHOAAAA sound but no acceleration and the speed will drop. So if you let off the petal to a sertain point will gain alittle power (hitting the low end). This very hard to explain. And the TBI will flutter between the low end power and high end no power. Looks like this has been a issue with a previous owner cause the MAP sensor has been changed and the old one was put in the box with words "no change" wrote on the box. Iv'e rebuilt the TBI cheaned the injectors and replaced the O2 sensor with no change. The breakdown happened this past weekend when we pulling a steep mountain on a 2 lane back road. It kept losing power and fluttering more on lower end of the throttle. The check engine light came on. I'm not familiar with pre 1995 ODBs. It finally died. I pulled the air cleaner off and tried to start it and there was no fuel coming from the injectors. I let it still for about 10 minutes with the key off and the check engine light went off and it started right up. I pulled the rest of the way up the mountian about 20 MPH to keep from causing anymore problems. It ran like "normal" the rest of the way home "back down the mountain".