Forum > Dodge - Chrysler Chassis

Brake seizing problem

(1/1)

MWSMITH2:
     I have a 32 ft 1975 Landau class A motor home, built on an extended Dodge M500 chassis.  I am the 2nd owner and have been driving this vehicle fo 30 years.  Intermittently, while driving down the road, and with no brake pedal input, my brakes will start to slowly seize and slowly bring me to a full braked stop.  When I put it in park and step on the brake pedal, it is unmovable and rock solid.  The master cylinder cannot be compressed one bit. This seems to happen after some recent required brake action...like for road construction, but not always. 
    I have been fighting this problem for several years now.  I have changed master cylinders twice, both hydrovac drums with the “slave” cylinders...the front one twice, the metering/warning light Valve once,  and all wheel cylinders within the last two years. My dash vacuum gage shows good idle vacuum h18-23 inches) and the vacuum check valve seems to hold good.  None of this has remedied the problem.  It affects both the front disk and rear drum systems.
    The only way I found to get moving again (without manually getting out and bleeding the wheel cylinders) is to shut down the engine, wait a few seconds, then press hard on the locked pedal and restart the engine.  This causes the pedal to respond normally by moving down an inch or so and the backs will release so I can roll again. 
     The local “pros” don’t know what is the cause or they don’t want to work on something this old.  I did all my own maintenance until I turned 80 this year and got lazy.
     I would appreciate any suggestion as to what might be the culprit.

mytoolman: