Do batteries charge when plugged in to shore power?

Started by shilohako, November 08, 2020, 12:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shilohako

I am new to motorhomes and to my 76 brave.  I am getting ready for winter and was wondering if the batteries are charged when it is plugged into shore power, or do I need a trickle charger on them?

Oz

When you plug into shore power, your battery isolator shuts off power to the batteries as the converter converts the 120v to 12v for your coach to use.

That system wasn't changed until years later.  So, the only way shore power will charge your batteries is if you get a newer, "smart" charge wizard.

Yes, you would need a trickle charger.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

shilohako

ok my next question is how to connect all batteries to charger or do I need multiple chargers?

Oz

Your coach batteries are connected together and then are connected to battery solenoid (isolator).
Your chassis battery is connected to the isolator by itself.
The isolator controls the charging back to the batteries when the engine is running.
So, you would either need two chargers, or you can disconnect the chassis battery and connect it to one of the coach batteries and use one charger.

Personally, I never did the latter because you have to remrmber to reconnect the chassis battery to run the engine, which you should every couple weeks or so during off-season.

But, if you don't plan on running it at all, you could do it that way.

DaveVA78Chieftain

QuoteThat system wasn't changed until years later.  So, the only way shore power will charge your batteries is if you get a newer, "smart" charge wizard.