Setup for by passing the inline fuel pump

Started by RonV, October 23, 2020, 03:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RonV

When it rains it pours  Hm? After a complete new tune-up and 20 miles down the road the in tank fuel pump stooped working  $@!#@! and had a wrecker tow it back to my house, I was told this is an on going problem with RV's and should install an electric fuel pump to a new  fuel regulator  and add 2 new fuel filters up to the mechanical  fuel pump and remove the paper filter at the carburetor.

Being new to all of this modification it sounds simple just to run new lines and by pass the old ones from the gas tank, I am new to all of this and asking if it can be done? I was thinking of just pulling out the fuel tank and start from scratch and make it simple and run new lines or use the existing lines after cleaning and flushing them.

Should I drill a hole in the tank and add a value on it and start from there? then add the electric fuel pump then add a filter and another filter before the mechanical  fuel pump, where would I need to put the new fuel regulator? by the fuel tank or before the mechanical  fuel pump, again this is all new to me so any help from you pro's would be very helpful.

Maybe I am thinking this all wrong but there has to be a simple way of doing it if it is an ongoing problem, a part list would be very helpful and some type of diagram, I have seen different PSI fuel pumps and I got lost, what pump do I need for a 22FT Chieftain and what regulator?
Thanks for any help you can provide     

Oz

Yes, that in-tank fuel pump is a known, common problem.

Certainly it can be done!  You really don't need to run new lines for it.  Don't know why you'd want to put in 2 fuel filters though.  One, in an easily accessible location, should be fine. The 2nd should be in the line going to the generator, which is irrelevant to your problem.

As for exactly how to arrange it, that's above my pay grade.