Engine Air filter relocation

Started by Real Wrought, August 19, 2020, 05:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Real Wrought

The large circular air intake filter on my Dodge 413-1 takes up a lot of space so the engine cover is large.  I want to minimize the size of the engine cover so it's easier to move around in the RV.  Question - has anyone done this?  I picked up a remote-mounted air filter that I could mount up in front.  What problems will I run into? 

penskepartyof4

I am merely trying to be helpful. I am not an expert.

I have heard about the 413 from my mopar buddy. He said that the distributor needs replacing most of the time. The headers need to be replaced as manifolds warp and play hell getting anything to work right; they also restrict way too much.

Onto the intake, carb and air filter setup; I had considered the same on our 454 chevy. I took a nap and dreamed that it would be fun to change over to fuel injection intake, tuning, EFI monitoring, MSD ignition, electric water pump, shorty headers, cam, a few other small things plus cold air intake. Then I woke up.

Maybe there is a effective way to mount cold air intake onto the carb and run it around to eliminate that issue. Maybe there is. I would take the cover off and see what your height is on the top of your carb and add 6 inches for the curve of the piping and mounting atleast. That is a guesstimate. See how much it is to customize piping around and down to where you need it. How much work it will take. If you find a place that does it please share.
OZ did never give nothing to the tin man, that he didnt already have. -America

Real Wrought