Andrew's 1989 Winnebago Warrior

Started by WVRV, January 02, 2020, 01:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WVRV

Hey, I bought this 1989 Winnebago Warrior back in November and started a rebuild.

Chevy P30 chassis 454 7.4L v8 carb

I'm 22, I graduated from West Virginia University and just started my first job. I got a near 400hp VW GTI that has been my daily. I love driving trucks and the idea of having a home (wherever I can fit) and found this bad boy running and driving for $2,700. I HAD to say yes.

The interior was outdated like my grandmas undies, the outside looked worn down, the roof leaked in a spot (no bueno) and the exhaust was loud and smelly (sometimes shoots fire, heck ya).

Let me take you on this journey of mine.

WVRV

This part was (easy). Tools required:

Hammer
Screwdriver
Power drill
Crowbar
Look for screws then smash it out W%

WVRV

Started to paint be doing the living room and kitchen walls. Used a primer and applied using a paint brush and a roller. Found the metal trim did not like to be painted with a brush. The walls were then painted white.

All the cabinets and the A/C housing got a couple layers of primer

Then... winter hit and painting was not working so well so it got shelved to the back burner.

WVRV

I chose a stick n peel vinyl dark wood for the floor. I watched a youtube video of a guy who used a layer of primer then stuck it down.

***USE FLOORING ADHESIVE***

Also make sure to get ALL the carpet staples out and to really give it a good cleaning.

I'd suggest rip out carpet -> sweep/vacuum -> remove all staples > roll on primer
-wait to dry-
then put a thin layer of flooring adhesive down with the applicator that has grooves

Measure/cut (cardboard is good to mock it up) use a razor blade to score it using a straight edge. Curved bits use extremely sharp scissors

Use one of those snap line markers to ensure your floor is straight. I read to start from the middle and work outward.
Then slap that sucker on and repeat