Onan 6.5 KW sounds horrible to me.

Started by 1990HR, May 13, 2015, 01:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

1990HR

Bear with me a second.
My generator would idle rough and just die put under a load.
I checked the spark plugs and were a little fouled, replaced them.
Changed the oil, checked compression and was fine at 115 PSI on both cylinders.
Removed carb and cleaned it. The jets were fine but got a little debris out of the needle and seat inlet.
Installed carb and installed an inline fuel filter.
After the float bowl filled up, the generator runs fine. Turned on the AC and it never even changed speed, like it didn't care.

Here is my problem. It sounds like crap.
I'm not an Onan generator mechanic so I don't know what they are supposed to sound like.
It sounds like an old tractor.
I'm a motorcycle mechanic of 22 years now and I know if a bike came in sounding like this I would be tearing it down.
I know air cooled engines make a lot more noise than water cooled engines but I work on a lot of air cooled Harley Davidson and other makes.

Here is what the generator sounds like:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxtuymDUTNk
Not my generator but found the video and it sounds similar.

I have not taken a stethoscope to it to find the source of the noise or anything, wanted to know if these generators are just loose running, noise making engine?

Thanks guys for your time.

DonD

Recorded sound is not like live but that one sounds like it could use a valve clearance adjustment. The hunting/surging could be a lean mixture or a governor issue, sometimes just a simple lube of the linkage.
Don and Mary
2000 TC1000 Bluebird bus conv.

Oz

We have tons of generator manuals here.  Find your model number, chances are we have it.  Using the troubleshooting guides are a valuable method to fix the problem, or at least narrow it down and get it solved with help from our CWVRV members.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

1990HR