Pulling a tow vehicle with am 86 Cheiftain. . . possible?

Started by bnlfan, February 01, 2015, 07:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bnlfan

I have a tow dolly and have a 2 inch receiver hitch on my 86 Cheiftain.

Will I have any problems pulling my 2007 Ford Freestyle?

Oz

The old, gas RVs typically have no problem towing any vehicle other than say a big SUV or Van.  Which I see you have.

But, you need some numbers before the question can be accurately answered:

What is your RV's tow rating and what is the GVWR of the Freestyle?
There's more involved, but I'm not a tow pro, so I'll leave the rest of the discussion up to those who are.

Oh, and are you sure you have a 345 engine? That's the first time I've ever seen anyone with that on this website. 
Every other Class A Chevy P30 ever joined listed a 454. 
Class Cs have listed a 350.

Winnebago model year shows either the 454 or 6.2 diesel (optional)

http://www.winnebagoind.com/resources/brochure/1986/86-Chieftain-bro.pdf
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

bnlfan

Changed the engine size.

I have never owned a Winnebago and the man I purchased it from didn't know anything about it. 

I have learned a lot on this site alone as well as the hands on that I am putting into it.

As for the tow vehicle.  I have a chance to sell the van and will be looking for a small car.

As for the rest of the questions, I don't know the answers.

Oz

The GVWR info will be on the data decal typically found on the driver door or door frame of all cars.  Not sure where it's located on your particular RV.

Oz

We have the owner's manual for 84 & 89.

Assuming there isn't much variance from say 84 to 86. your RV GVWR is 12,300 lbs
Your hitch ball capacity is 200lbs
Your hitch capacity is 2000lbs

http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/Pages_HTML/FreeManuals/Owner_Operator/Winnebago_Itasca/84AllWinn_Itasca.pdf

Google search shows your Freestyle at 5,379 lbs.