Introducing myself and my 1978 Winnebago Chieftain

Started by Jer4sports, October 09, 2014, 01:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jer4sports

Hey guys,
My name is Jeremy and I'm brand new to this online community. What brings me here is the obvious...I just purchased a 1978 Winnebago Chieftain 26RK!  It's hard to contain my excitement with only four pictures but I'm sure I'll post more later. I bought it off of Craigslist in Colorado Springs where my brother lives. I will be going up there mid-November to pick her up and drive back down to Arkansas where I live. Wish me luck!

A little bit about the Chieftain:
It has 34,000 miles and runs well. There is a clicking like sound when it runs which I suspect could be an issue with the exhaust manifold (I've read they're infamous for that issue). The PO mentioned an exhaust leak so I'll need to look into that.  There is also a minor oil leak, but not enough to concern me at this point. Could be a gasket. The generator fires up but then dies after a second. So it's not currently working, but I don't suspect it's completely done for.

There are a few of what I like to call idiosyncrasies that I might expect out of something 35 years old. There is a little hail damage on one side and front and back. Minor windshield crack. Cab A/C isn't currently working. Fuel gauge doesn't work. The stove vent hood fan only has 4 of its 5 blades which I think is the reason it's so loud! Probably should replace that. Part of the ceiling in the shower is peeling back. None of these issues are too much of a concern to me. Granted, I would like to fix them at some point. I just need to prioritize my repairs and do them a little bit at a time for budget reasons.

The pictures don't do it justice but the interior is in really good condition. There is not a single blemish in the old shag carpet or any of the upholstery. The tires are in good shape. The awning is pretty new and in good shape. Lots of positives!