It's not a Winni, but I'm new at this, afterall

Started by emoney, January 11, 2013, 12:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

emoney

Alrighty then, first, allow me to introduce myself;  the Christian name is Eric, hailing from "Tampa Bay" Florida (technically Hudson Beach)and I've just acquire my very first RV.  As a matter of fact, outside of spending a week in a tent about 5 years ago, I haven't even set foot in a campground in over 30 years.  The lovely bride, however, made the mistake of mentioning, one time and barely audible, that we should try a motorhome.  Zoom, off I went in search of the right one.  I almost went with a Chieftain 33, but at almost 35' couple with a previous owner that didn't really care about things like maintenance and care, I opted instead for a small 23' Southwind Eagle...a 1984 to be exact.

I've got lots of work to do, but the PO before me already did a lot of the groundwork.  My focus, mainly, will be on bringing her up to the "pretty standards" to please the wife.  For some reason, she's not a fan of the peach colored paneling on the cabinets.   Strange woman, her.  Also, I'm dying to try out the Rustoleum Process, but I have many doubts about that.  The outside will be getting attention, but how is to be determined.  The plan for the inside is your standard, "paint the walls & cabinets, recover/replace the pilot/co-pilot seats" format, but added to that, oddly enough, "she-who-must-be-obeyed" is requesting that I remove the jack-knife sofa PO installed and reinstall a booth dinette.  I've recently found someone selling the one he removed from his RV cheap, so I'll probably use that as a platform, but would like to add a little flair to it.

As I make real progress, with actual "before & after" photos, I promise to start a project thread and share the wealth, so-to-speak.  Wish me luck, please!

Oz

Awesome.  You'll get along with OldEdBrady too... he's very familiar with the term, "SWMBO".