1984 Chevy 454 smokes when warm

Started by ErikTande, June 29, 2017, 06:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ErikTande

I have a new to me 1984 fleetwood southwind that smokes from the exhaust when it's warmed up (takes about 30 mins).     I'm going to rent a headgasket test (the kind that tests your radiator with blue/yellow fluid) and see what those results are.    I also ordered a real water temp gauge so I can know what the actual temp of the engine is.  It shouldn't be running over 220, right?

I'm new to big carbureted engines but I'm pretty handy.   I've done headgaskets on small engines before so if it comes to that I'm confident I can do it, but tips and guidance is always appreciated.  What else could it be, and what else should I be looking for? 

Thanks!!!

Here's my new rig:

M & J

First off, welcome to the forum.

Secondly, what color is the smoke?
M & J

MotorPro

ErikTande

White smoke, maybe blue-ish tint, I'll have to double check.   I've only driven in far enough to get it to smoke a couple times.

wae

What does it smell like?  If the carb isn't backing off of its warmup enrichment and is continuing to dump fuel, you might be running too rich.  I know that it's supposed to be black smoke in that case, but I've gotten a more white looking smoke from pushing my req*fuel numbers way up and forcing it to run super rich. 

White smoke is usually coolant, though, and should give off a bit of a sweet smell, assuming you have antifreeze in the system.  Have you been turning up low on coolant lately?  Any tiny green bubbles on the dipstick?

If it's grey or grey/blue you're looking at oil.  Usually that's rings or valve seals.  Can you do a leak-down test?

Rickf1985

I think you are headed in the right direction, let us know what the test tells you. If it comes up negative it could be valve seals. How many miles are on it?

ErikTande