1996 Itasca Sunrise 31rq F53 Project (sort of)

Started by FrankenHome, August 13, 2016, 08:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FrankenHome

Hello All,

New guy to your website and it looks great. I also hope I'm posting in the right place. I'm not sure where to start so if you'll indulge me I'll start at the beginning. About 2 years ago I bought my first RV and I'll confess that I'm a former certified automotive tech (we used to be called mechanics or worse) so a lot of what I'll share is on me but to say I was lied to about the overall condition would be an understatement. I'll just list everything I've done and if you want to know about anything specifically let me know. I may have a few pictures to share too. So, without exaggeration, this RV was supposed to only have cosmetic issues. And by that the head liner was shot. Some of it had been torn out and the gray foam was exposed and shedding all over everything. Taking the man at his word we made the deal. My bad all the way because I was in a rush to buy and I didn't check everything as I should have. Here we go and not in any particular order of discovery:

1. Inner side walls on the rear tires splitting.
2  Windshield leaking like a waterfall across the top.
3  Steering stabilizer shot.
4. Dash A/C completely shot. Front bearing and seal on compressor failed, system open to the atmosphere, rust inside hose fittings.
5. Radiator leaking lower corner.
6. Furnace had a dead mouse (guess that's better than a live one) and a mouse nest in the burner box. Igniter bad.
7. Right exhaust manifold and air injection tube leaking at flange.
8. Water heater needed maintenance.
9. Severe rodent and ant infestation.
10. Fiberglass nose getting ready to fall off (no kidding).
11. Shocks bad.
12. Power Converter bad.
13. Corroded galvanized steel 5/8 inch tube fittings at the hose connections for the water heater and rear bedroom heater.
14. Fuel gauge not accurate.
15. Engine coolant expansion tank cracked and leaking.