Does my ' 77 Chieftain have a converter?

Started by MSN Member, November 05, 2009, 09:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

millertimewinne

Sent: 10/23/2006

Hi,

I hooked my 77 Chieftain to shore power and only the AC circuits would work.  No DC power a'tall?  The coach batteries were removed to be replaced with good ones. Do I have to have the coach batteries installed to have my DC circuits work? I am new to this and I am unsure of how the electrical system works. Thanks in advance for any help!!

denisondc

Probably someone with better knowledge will answer, but.... Your Winnie would have come with a converter, to provide 12 volts for the interior lights, stove fan, and furnace. It would get its input power from either the shore power cable, or the genset. My 72 has a converter with an internal relay. If the RV isnt connected to 115 volt power and the genset isn't running, the converter relay just connects the coach batteries to the 12 volt interior fixtures. When the RV is connected to shore power, or the genset is running, that relay disconnects the batteries from the coach lights/fixtures, since the converter is supplying the 12 volts instead. There is also a fuse buried inside my converter. We have had to clean the relay contacts once when it didn't work, and to replace that relay once too.
You converter is likely more elegant than my simple one - which doesn't charge the batteries for instance. The converter would probably be located at floor level, inside one of the cabinets, or under a dinette, etc.
There would probably be a circuit breaker that protects the converter - so look for that too.

Cooneytoones