Best internet access?

Started by Madathlon, June 26, 2013, 01:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Madathlon

My wife and I are arguing on what the best route to take.

I want to get a Prepaid MiFi hotspot from T-moble ($75 a month for unlimited data service)

She is convinced we can get free access even in state parks in Oregon or go to places that have free access. I can not see them allowing us to park there for hours on end and using there free services.

I am a amateur writer and we both enjoy lots of time on secondlife and our son loves his Xbox 360 live games.

So what the best choice?
Madathlon
   CWO4 Motor Pool Chief (retired)
   Onan Master Installer/Service Tech
   Mercury Marine Golden Wrench
   OMC Master Marine Tech
   ASE Master Tech

M & J

Best choice? Free. Mostly reliable? MIFI.

However there are typically 5gig monthly data limits on the subscription services (MIFIs) and a couple of movies plus the Xbox on a few times will quickly get you in to data overage charges which can be substantial.
For example my staff uses MIFIs for mobile data (laptop) use. They have a 5 gig limits and the only time one went over was when one of them used the mifi to let his child watch "a couple" movies on Netflix. He had to pay the $140 data overage charges.
For emails, browsing, etc.the mifi is the most dependable. But throw in the Xbox and movies best seek a free wifi service.
M & J

Madathlon

Ya, Movies where not in the plan. That way I looked heavily into the wineguard on the roof :D

But the 360 is another issue.
Madathlon
   OMC Master Marine Tech
   ASE Master Tech

ClydesdaleKevin