cheap Mopar ignition upgrade

Started by UK-Winnie, February 25, 2014, 12:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

UK-Winnie

Not sure if this is the right part of the firum but I can’t see it has been covered before and I can see a lot of people on here appreciate the economy DIY approach so I thought I’d post it here.

This is a nice cost effective upgrade I did on one of my cars but it applies equally to all of the common Mopar electronic systems from early ‘70s onward.  Looking at when I first posted it on a musclecar forum I’ve been running this system since 2009 and it’s still going strong.

It basically involves changing the Mopar control box, ballast resister and coil for a GM style HEI module and suitable high energy coil (the ballast resistor is not required).

I did mine to look stock appearing apart from the coil (see photos below) and I’ll be doing the same thing on my Winnie in due course.  If you’re careful digging out the old guts you can just solder the new module onto the back of the stock wiring socket which makes it plug and play.

The advantages are significant for reasons mainly based around the HEI module having current modulation instead of being just a big switch (like the Mopar ones are).  So it powers up the coil only until the coil is saturated, then it pulls back on the current.  That way it doesn't need a ballast resistor to avoid overheating itself or the coil and without a resistor the coil can charge to higher voltage and faster.  Also the risk of ballast failure is eliminated (obviously).

In theory you can run any coil with it and any coil you put on there will run at it's optimum but a low impedence coil makes best use of the system and can deliver 50 + kv at the plug.