440-3 spark plug wires and oil filter

Started by Lori jeffers, July 25, 2018, 03:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lori jeffers

I have a 1977 Georgie Boy cruise air with a 440-3 engine. I am not a mechanic but I can do basics. Does anyone know the correct oil filter and spark plug wires? I would look at the existing ones but will be buying the parts before I get back to where the motorhome is. The best oil to run would be helpful as well (it has 77,000 miles)

Rickf1985

I can't tell you the wires or filter but the oil that is best for the older motors is the diesel rated motor oils. Most people run the 15W-40 motor oil. I run Rotella oil myself in all of my older vehicles that have flat tappets (lifters). You definitely qualify in that respect. The diesel rated oils still have a higher zinc and phosphorous which has been removed from regular motor oils to save catalytic converters. Modern cars with roller lifters and computer controls do not need the extra high pressure lubrication for the lifters nor do they need the additive to keep the dirt in suspension so the filter can remove it like the diesel oils have.

skloon

I would order from Rockauto for the wires- can get really cheap oddly the last set I got had 9 wires plus a coil one

turbinebronze

Hi Rick,
  I've read that the diesel oils have a reduced amount of ZDDP in them now also.
   http://www.cam-shield.com/acatalog/diesel.html 
  http://www.enginebuildermag.com/2008/02/performance-oils-and-additives-got-zinc/

I found at Autozone that the 20w50 Motorcycle oils have an API rating of SJ, which is a much older blend of oil than the SM oils with the reduced zinc content.
  Also, Brad Penn oil is an old blend. I've heard it's the old Kendall Green oils from long ago.

I'm not trying to show any disrespect here...Not intended.  I have an 1947 Indian Chief that I ride all the time and oil is always a problem for me. (I run a straight 60wt in her). So I've had to do some looking around...