remove Silicone on roof!

Started by lost00, May 04, 2015, 04:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lost00

someone put silicone on roof before i bought..  so i am work on remove old silicone off from roof  pretty Bugger jobs to remove!  i tired use heat guns, silicone remover, scrap still not remove easy.. so keep working peel off.. and need really clean good before i put M1 Sealant then dry before put Eternabond Tape cover around on RV roof ..   anyone have done remove silicone before?  i wish someone not put Silicone on roof! 

lost00

Aluminium Roof  has little loose from rust clip to hold sheet so i will going use Metal Screw to hold metal sheet before use M1 Sealant for between sheets before tape. 

Rickf1985

Silicone is as nasty as it gets. I stay far away from it as far as using it, I only use urethane or latex caulks and sealants. As far as getting the silicone off, I have tried many different things right down to carburetor cleaner and brake cleaner, Hey, I am a mechanic and you use what you have. The carburetor cleaner seemed to work the best but you have to be careful of other things that may be damaged by it. For instance you have the open seams that it would get into and if there is foam insulation it would attack that very aggressively. I have also have had fairly good luck with Xylene. You have to apply and wipe quickly since it dries fast. You could try enamel reducer, it is just about the same chemical but drys slower. No matter what you use you have to keep changing rags since the silicone does not go away, it just softens and wipes up and stays in the rag, to a point.
It looks like the roof bit back from the looks of your hand. D:oH!

lost00

Froggy1936