Tire balancing?

Started by Rickf1985, April 27, 2014, 05:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rickf1985

What methods have you used to balance your tires? I just put 6 new tires on mine and got royally screwed by the tire place. They quoted me a price for the tires installed, then it was 200.00 more when I went to pay! I asked about that since I have dealt with this place for years. Tax, tire disposal fee, New valve stems, Oh yea, there is another tax for each tire for some freakin' environmental deal! I paid and went home. Right away I felt the shake and being a mechanic I knew right away it was tire balance. I called when I got home and asked if they balanced them and the guy say's, "Oh, I meant to talk to you about that. They don't fit on our machine so they were not balanced". I didn't even answer him, just hung up. Didn't answer when he called back either. It is a tire place that deals in all tire up to and including tractor trailer. They don't fit on his machine, yea, right. Anyway I am leaving next weekend for a trip to Maryland and it is going to be a rough ride if I don't do something. To take it somewhere else and have them spun will cost me over a hundred bucks that I just don't have. To make matters worse................... I took the rears off to do the brakes, now I have only driven it 8 miles from there to here. Half the lug nuts were loose! PLUS, He did not even take off the old weights. Yes, I will be calling the owner tomorrow. OK, Rant over.
Have any of you used the balancing beads or Centramatics? I am leaning towards the beads for two reasons, time and money. I would not get the discs in time and I really do not want to hump those tires again!

Stripe