transmission won't shift to 3rd gear

Started by wreckless17, March 28, 2014, 09:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wreckless17

I have 78 chieftain and transmission seems like it shifts good until you get to freeway speeds at 55 mph the rpms just get higher and higher the faster you go.  also if I shift manually it seems like its shifts three times but the rpms still are way too high the faster you go

Old Man Powell

I'm no expert, but I'll try helping. Are you knew to this rig or have you had it for a while? I ask only beacuse with the 3 speed tranny these things run practically 3k RPM at highway speeds. On my first "classic" RV I had to adjust mentally to hearing the engine run at those higher RPM's.

Now, if it's truly not going into third you might want to check vacuum line from carb. If you have a vacuum gage make sure it isn't bottoming out when the tranny is trying to go into third. Of course, check your fluid level, color and odor.

That's about the extent of my knowledge so someone else please jump in with more suggestions.

One thing I will recommend... if all else fails, go buy some Lucas Stop Slip transmission additive. I ususally don't put much faith into all these "solutions in a bottle," but I have personally seen that stuff same two transmission that were slipping or not shifting. I used it as a last ditch effort on an old truck I had. The tranny was shot... a used one from a junkyard was going to cost more than the truck was worth. I poured that stuff in and after a few minutes of it mixing in the transmission not only shifted again, it shifted better than it ever had. And it lasted!

My dad used it in his Dakota after his tranny started acting up. Sure enough, after it had a chance to mix in his transmission was like new. So, just something to keep in mind.

ramit

if it shifting 3 times that it these old rigs just roar at hwy speeds ..just turn up the radio lol W% run at 55 mph enjoy the trip

Old Man Powell