How many people use Dielectric Grease on Bulbs, Plugs, Dist Caps?

Started by James E Vining, August 15, 2013, 11:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James E Vining

I remember seeing this stuff when I was younger and seen it again a few days ago while I was wandering aimlessly through teh parts store rtying to remember everything I needed.
I was wondering how many people use this stuff on their Plugs, Plug Wires, Dist Caps, Tail lights, etc.
I have read the benefits about it helping prevent Voltage drop, corrosion, etc.
Funny thing is all the time I have worked on vehicles I have never used this before, I have used a Megaton of (Water Displacement Attempt #40) AKA WD 40.
The Di Grease comes in a fairly small tube so I Assume a little goes along way, or so I hope although it was pretty cheap like $2 I think.
Just wanted to get others opinions and what items ya all may have come up with to do the same thing as the Di-Grease

Mytdawg

I use it for all those things.  It helps a lot, especially with something that doesn't get used very often.  I just changed the turn signal bulb on my 1985 S-10 Blazer and the factory! bulb had been packed in dialectric.  Bulb and socket came right apart, no corrosion or rust after almost 30 years in Michigan.  You bet I packed it again when I replaced it...

Keeps the spark plug boots from drying and getting fused to the spark plugs etc etc.  I keep a tube of that and anti-sieze in the toolbox.  You break off one sparkplug and you never want to do that again...   :-[

ibdilbert01

I too use it on everything!  It does a good job at stopping corrosion.   You can get it in larger tubes on Amazon. 
Constipated People Don't Give a crap!

pvoth1111

We call our coach "Charlie Brown"

Stripe