Intro for a New RV and Newer Owner

Started by Shalydra, November 04, 2012, 06:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shalydra

Hello Forum!
I'm a newbie in more ways then one. On Halloween night I had the good fortune to have an opportunity to buy an old motorhome. My hope is to fix her up and live in her but I'm certainly in unknown territory. Prior to this purchase the only vehicle I've owned with a motor is a mobility scooter. Enough about me for now, on to the important introduction!

This is my new baby:

She's a 1972 Commander on a Dodge M300 Chassis. I am told she's either 18 or 20ft in length but haven't taken a measuring tape to her  just yet. I have a feeling she's an 18 though.  ;)  Working on getting her info tracked down so I can bring her home out of the field she's been sitting in for the past 16 years. She's out of DMV records so it's taking a bit of time. Assuming no further hiccoughs with the process I'll be getting her home on the 7th. There's 67k on the odometer and having looked at the engine in situ, and heard the history of her, A mechanic friend of mine believes that's all she's traveled.

I believe her to be in fairly good condition given all she's been through. She doesn't leak, which is a miracle given the conditions she's been sitting in. Engine runs though there's an oil leak that needs to be figured out. She's been unoccupied for the past two years but was lived in for the 12 prior to that. As of 2 years ago all her appliances except the fridge worked. I'm not willing to test them just yet however, because she's been in salt air and I want to ensure no corrosion damage to the propane system before any gets hooked up.