1987 Itasca Starts then died, now won't start at all

Started by jleo313, August 23, 2012, 11:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jleo313

Got in the motorhome yesterday and turned the key.  It fired, but then died.  I turned the key more and it wouldnt turn over.  I sprayed carb cleaner in the carb and it starts, but when the cleaner burns off it dies (a few seconds). I poured gas in carb and does the same thing as the carb cleaner.  It is like the fuel is not getting to the carb.  I replaced the fuel filter half way between engine and back of RV.  Still the same.  Where is the other fuel filter at?  What else should I do to trouble shoot.  I am far from a mechanic, so please use layman terms. 

Any help is appreciated! 

brians1969

My first thought would be the fuel pump. If it is in the tank, you should hear it when the ignition switch is turned to the on position. Take the gas cap off and listen while someone turns the ignition on. (Assuming the pump is in the tank) Check the fuse for it also....maybe fuel pump relay.

brian

DonD

Most need oil pressure to power up the in tank pump.

There's another filter in the carb inlet, assuming you have a carb.
Is the new filter arrow pointing the right direction?
Don and Mary
2000 TC1000 Bluebird bus conv.

jleo313

I went to autozone and bought the inline fuel filter that apparently is at the base of the carb.  An individual at Autozone believed it was a fuel pump from what I described.  It is the P30 chasis and I think I saw the fuel pump near the block.  I had followed the fuel lines back to this, so I am assuming it is the fuel pump??  There is a mobile mechanic here that I am thinking of calling, but I would much rather save the money and do it myself if I can.

Good news is the fuel pump is only 35 ish dollars...

ClydesdaleKevin

Take a deep breath and proceed from there...no need to panic.  We have the same setup as yours and its easy to troubleshoot.