New Carburetor Choice Advice Wanted Chevy 454

Started by ClydesdaleKevin, March 27, 2012, 11:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ClydesdaleKevin

Hey all you experts in here.  I would like your advice on what to do about my carburetor.  I'm far from an expert, and not very good with carburetors, so I figured I'd ask the guys who REALLY know what they are doing...lol!

Here are my choices for our 89 Holiday Rambler, with a 454.

Option 1:  I could remove the Rochester Quadrajet that is on here now, and bring it down to my mechanics here in Arizona and let them rebuild it.  They were the ones that managed to cobble together a decent working carburetor for the Itasca out of two bad ones.  Would cost about 200 bucks or less...but I might have to drive the RV to them at the end of the show if it needs tweaking.  This would also ensure that its the RIGHT carburetor, and I wouldn't have to worry about linkage adapters, modifying linkages, the wrong jets, etc.

Option 2:  I could buy a rebuilt Rochester Quadrajet from Summit Racing...rebuilt by Edelbrock...(I will never buy a rebuild from Holley again after the last nightmare we had on the Itasca!).  Cost is around 450.00 bucks.  It would be a fresh rebuild from Edelbrock.  But I worry about the compatability, like metering rods and jets being the same, and it having the same linkage...and what the heck is a "divorced choke"?  Mine has an electric choke...don't know what a divorced choke is, but that is what most of the Edelbrock Quadrajet rebuilds are listed as having.