New to list in New Mexico

Started by awatters, June 12, 2011, 01:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

awatters

Greetings from the Land of Enchantment or Entrapment, just depends on your point of view.  ;)  I go by Al or Pappy and my wife is called KD or Nana.  I'm a tech support/computer programmer and KD is a hospice nurse.  We have lived in the Albuquerque area for almost 30 years now.  We have been tent campers since long before we moved to NM and I've been tenting since my pre-teens as a Boy Scout.  We did lots of motorcycle camping before our son was born and then car camping after that and now that it's just the two of us again some more motorcycle camping.  Since we now have grandchildren to spoil we figured it was time to look for something a little more comfortable. (KD says she is tired of sleeping on the ground)
With that in mind we just bought our first RV, a 1972 Winnebago Indian in need of some TLC.  The previous owner is a gentleman we know through church and he lives about 200 miles from us in Las Cruces, NM.  The yet to be named Winnebago has been sitting for at least 4 years, I've been going there as often as possible on the weekends and bringing the old girl back to life.  The fuel system was a mess, I ended up replacing the fuel pump, having the carb rebuilt and bypassing the fuel tank switch.  On Memorial Day I was able to get her running and moving under her own power.  I'm taking the day off from work on Wednesday to go back down to do a tune up and have new tires installed.  I figure at that point I'll be ready to go out for a test drive and if all goes well I plan on having her in my driveway by the 4th of July.
Once she is home the real work starts with going through her stem to stern, cleaning, painting, fixing and upgrading.  I am definitely looking forward to some weekends in Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado with a fly rod and my young fishing buddies.
Pappy

LJ-TJ