Engine Removal 318

Started by LJ-TJ, June 15, 2010, 08:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LJ-TJ

Ok Boys the party is about to start. I expect to start pulling the engine some time this weekend. Now think carefully I've never done this before. Has anyone got any suggestions on how I should do it? I am pulling it out through the front. I read some were that the front should be jacket up for some reason. Any thoughts on this? Should I be putting her up on some rail road ties?  Hm? Willing to listen to any suggestions you might have. ;)

Oz

These rigs are designed to drop the engine down and then forward, as I recently stated in another topic.  Take off the bumper and the grills, and there is a removable cross brace between the upper and lower grill as well.  This makes removing the stuff in the front a lot easier.  You'll need to raise the rig at least 6" or more.  The more, up to a foot, the better. 

The 69 - 77 manual covers the engine removal procedure in Chapter 9, starting on page 9-5, as well as disconnecitng the transmission, etc.

If you haven't gotten that manual, I strongly suggest you do!
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

LJ-TJ

Thanks Mark, got the manual but for an armature it doesn't quite give me all the info I need. Surly would like to some in-site from someone who has already done it. It not I'm hoping to keep track step by step for the next guy. Just had a thought?  Hm? Should I take the front wheels off. Might give me easier access to the exhaust. Hm?

Oz

Taking the front wheels off would give you better access to the exaust, and a number of other things as well.  Block up or brace under the fame in front and behind the leaf springs.  You can also take one bolt out of the shocks so you can tip them out as well.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

mbmcmahan