Shift Cable Install

Started by Brave76, December 28, 2009, 08:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brave76

Ok... so I have read a bunch of posts and looks like there is plenty of info on where to find the cable. But how dificult is the install. Im a novice do it yourselfer. This weekend in the cold I bent the shift cable right at the lever by putting it into park to quickly I assume from all the other posts. I cant get the cable free. I was smart enough to figure out how un hook the cable and "shift" at the transmission by reaching thru the engine cover area.

So how dificult is it to replace the cable?  Is it just a matter of cliping one end and unscrewing the other and refeading it through?  Or do you need to make adjustments to make it all shift properly?

Is this something an rookie can tackle or should I just pay a mechanic to have it done?

Any tips or advice would be great. Thank you

PS its a dodge 440, 1976 21' brave

The_Handier_Man1

I guess this install and adj was never covered before, but here goes my experience.  Mine stuck and bent about 300 miles from home, and I removed it, oiled it and made it home where I replaced it. 

The bottom end of the cable unscrews from the clevis that connects to the trans. You do not get this clevis part with the new cable.  Then the top end, under the dash, just slips into the shift lever. 

The shift ball has a set screw.  Once removed there are some screws that hold the lever to the dash.  To adj, just put the trans into neutral and the dash lever in neutral then adj the clevis until the pin on the clevis to the trans slides in.

I hope that helps.  Just keep asking and someone will help you out.   Les

Brave76