How are the batteries hooked-up & no spark problem

Started by MSN Member, April 12, 2009, 02:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MSN Member

Sent: 11/29/2001

HELP PLEASE, I have purchased a 1971 Winnebago with a dodge 413c.i. engine that I towed home. my problem is that most of the battery cables are missing, I have one ground cable hanging in the battery compartment Thats It. can someone give me an idea of how & where the rest of the cables hook up to the batteries and the solenoid in the battery compartment ? also  there is a long black wire hanging that goes all the way to the back of the motorhome, I'm not sure if that has something to do with the generator or not.
any help will be Greatly Appreciated, Thanks,   Road Hog

MSN Member

Sent: 11/30/2001

I'm no expert, but I'll try to give you an overview.  The system is divided into one power source for the chassis (engine, headlights, dash etc.) and one power source for the coach (lights, water pump, furnace, generator starter etc.).  I have two batteries for each power source.  I wire each pair of batteries in parallel.  I use automotive batteries for the chassis and deep storage batteries for the coach. You have to be careful that one doesn't drain the other, best to keep them as fully charged as possible.
The positive cables from each battery pair are attached to the separate sides of the solenoid in the battery compartment.  A primary wire runs from the connection on the center of the solenoid to the battery switch on the dash.  Check it and make sure you hear a click when you push the switch.  Also run a positive cable from the chassis side of the solenoid to the starter solenoid.  Attach the positive cable from the rear of the coach to the coach side of the battery solenoid.
Both sets of batteries are grounded to the frame.  I would advise establishing a ground directly on the frame.  The ground on the side of the battery compartment doesn't make as good a connection.