battery drainage issue possible related to brake light - 1973 Brave d18

Started by perlgurl, September 20, 2015, 06:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

perlgurl

I was about to try to figure out my heating issue (mentioned here:  http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php/topic,11685.0.html ) when I discovered my battery was dead.  It seems the issue the second RV shop mentioned below, a dead battery, in the long version is actually my next issue to work before the heat can be tested.

In short I’m trying to figure out where to even start to track down the battery draining issue.  It’s not a dashboard light that is draining the battery because I I’m sure I checked that when I parked the RV Friday. It could be rear lights, but since the battery is dead I’ll have to wait a bit to even be able to test that.  I’m new to fixing things, but willing to learn.  I know how to strip wire and know how to solder, so I figure with some direction I can work this out on my own with a little bit of help pointing me in the right direction.   

I’ve pulled the battery out of the RV and put it on the trickle charger. I’m going to go run and try to get a Top Post Battery Disconnect Switch to make disconnecting the battery easier in between working on it until I work out how to fix the drainage issue.

This seems like it is related to my issue and is helpful, but (for me) pictures of the chassis wiring diagrams would help: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php/topic,5770.msg21249.html#msg21249

I’ve got the service manuals from the store as well as the owner’s manual, but it’s not in the electrical chapter and so I’m slowly scanning through the 600 page document since the pdf is not text searchable.  Even the name of a chapter to look at would be most appreciated.