440 Timing marks

Started by The_Handier_Man1, November 10, 2008, 07:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tfraz58

Sent: 4/17/2008 8:47 AM

Being a serious amateur mechanic I follow other boards too, looking for all the help and to gain as much knowledge as I can. This question turned up on another board and I figured one of you guys could answer it:

"I need and opinion on this item. I have been racking my head trying to find some type of timinng marks for our 1977 db-3000 with a 440-3 engine. I was checking the fuel pump area and noticed a rusted plate. With some engine cleaner and a wire brush it looks like I finally found the timing marks. The plate is about one inch long and has a 0 on one end and a 10 on the other. It also has 5 lines between the 0 and the 10. Are these the Degrees of timing?, if so are they in 2 degree incriments. If I count correctly the mark before the 10 should be 8 degrees and I believe that would be the correct setting. Any imput would be appreciated as I have been timing it by ear for the past 3 years."

Thanks in advance for this guy's benefit, I feel a kindred lost spirit connection with him.

Sent: 4/17/2008 5:49 PM

that sounds right to me.  all I know it was very hard to get a direct line of sight...lol Dave has a good picture in his album....-Henry

Sent: 4/17/2008 10:11 PM

Thats right, and the mark on the pulley is a groove. It will be easier to see if the groove is painted white beforehand. My favorite angle for seeing the marks is from the passenger side wheel well; safely away from the fan blades!
The vacuum advance hose should be disconnected while adjusting the timing.

Sent: 5/4/2008 1:09 AM