73 Winnebago, 440 Engine, new electronic ignition wiring help needed

Started by 73WinnieIndian, December 03, 2019, 06:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

73WinnieIndian

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/msd-8387/questionsanswers/
My husband put this new electronic ignition in the RV. Hooked up the msd Blaster Ingnition coil that came with it.

Forgive me if all my technical information is not 100%. I'm not a mechanic, but I am a very driven Motorhoe owner that wants this thing running. My husband Johnny got most of the engine rebuilt even after his mechanic friend moved away mid project. So now we are stuck with this part and a few other issues.

So he put this electronic ignition in and there are extra wires.
Watching the video from the manufacturer, it shows a wire on each side of the msd blaster and one grounding wire.
We have extra wires. I will post a picture below.

73WinnieIndian

73WinnieIndian

Stock it was electronic ignition control unit. with the ballast resister and voltage regulator. So Johnny (husband) wasn't sure if he needed the ballast resistor or not. He is unsure of the wiring. The engine did turn over, but would stall.   

From reading all the older posts......one suggesting a good carb. mechanic to adjust the carb timing. Yet Johnny isn't sure about the wiring still.

So if anyone can look at this and let me know if it looks right or even if it is what the heck are you doing? I just want this project moving forward.

Let me know if you need more pictures or more information. I really, really want this baby running.

If all I need is a mechanic to adjust the carb, then I will find someone to do that.  Thanks, Deb

tmsnyder

I have not used one of these, but from the look of the installation instructions, Figure 10 on Page 6 here:  https://documents.holley.com/8387.pdf

It seems very simple to connect.

Looks like the orange wire from the distributor needs to go to the '-' terminal on the coil . That should be the only wire on that terminal.