potential fuel starvation after start-up??

Started by ridingrambling, October 03, 2019, 10:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ridingrambling

Brief context:  1989 Itasca Suncruiser, 454, P30.Recently installed alternator - seems to work great. Recently installed carb - see the problem below:
Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic; but usually can figure stuff out by sorting through hours on Youtube, in forums, reading, etc.

The Problem: Installed rebuilt Quadrajet carb and new associated vacuum lines. Now starts and immediately stalls, accompanied by intake backfire/popping. 

Diagnosis?: From my naive perspective seems to be a fuel starvation/extreme lean mixture issue. So I am trying to diagnose/check potential causes of such.

More background: Engine was running "OK" prior to new carb. I.e., would get me down the road; but could not resolve extremely high idle so figured replacing old/grubby carb/choke prior to heading out for NH-CA journey a good idea. Looked easy enough, and for most part went as expected.
One issue/caveat - had to cut fuel intake to remove old carb. Now finding it difficult to find something to make the U-turn into the fuel intake filter without kinking. Currently using about a foot of flexible 3/8 spectra fuel line; but not super pleased with set up.
-I have capped vacuum ports to try to isolate possible cause lean mixture.
-New idle mixture screws seem set in midrange (3-4 turns out).
-Have tweaked new choke adjustment to start at point just begins to open.
-Have confirmed accelerator pump pushing strong stream of fuel into both primaries with engine off.

Again, my best naive guess is something is causing fuel starvation right after startup. This was not an issue prior to new carb, so not sure what think. Am looking for list of what to investigate. Any logical suggestions appreciated. Thank you.

Rickf1985